Ohio Wesleyan Honors 2011 Golden Bishops

Ceremony Celebrates Campus ‘Superheroes’

Ohio Wesleyan honored campus leaders and ‘superheroes’ at the 2011 Golden Bishop Awards. The annual event is a highlight for the OWU community and an opportunity to reflect on accomplishments. (Photo by John Holliger)

They may not be able to leap tall buildings with a single bound, but they are Ohio Wesleyan University superheroes with amazing powers to make a difference on campus, in the community, and in the world.

The University came together April 16 to honor these OWU heroes at the 2011 Golden Bishop Awards. Read more about the winners and their awards, see photographs from the event, and watch a webstream of the Golden Bishop Awards ceremony.

Recipients of 2011 Golden Bishop Awards are:


  • The Ohio Campus Compact Charles J. Ping Award for Community Service: Magdalena Jacobo ’13
  • The Columbus Initiative Award for Excellence in Tutoring and Mentoring: Tim Albon ’11, Hannah Berger-Butler ’11, Jae Blackmon ’11, Roxanne Damo ’11, Sylvie Hundley ’11, Molly Johnson ’11, Chelsea Keller ’11, Carlton Levert ’11, Kyra Miller ’11, Ezugo Onuekwusi ’11, Alexa von der Embse ’11, and Heather Werling ’11
  • The Bridge Builder Award for Community Involvement
    • Group: OWU Men’s Basketball Team
    • Individuals: Roxanne Damo ’11, Chloe Hamrick ’11, Molly Johnson ’11, Kristen Kalinowski ’11, Katlin Lentz ’13, Duy Minh Ngo ’11, Rebecca Pollard ’12, Ian Reed ’11, and Ben Wallingford ’11
  • The Patricia G. Young Award for Leadership in Service to Children and Youth: Alexa von der Embse ’11
  • The Sara Paullin Casto Student Humanitarian Award:
    • Group: OWU House of Peace and Justice
    • Individual: Andrea Hatfield ’11


  • Program of the Year: Dive-in Movie, Campus Programming Board
  • Advisor of the Year: Robert Louis-Charles ’07, advisor to Black Men of the Future
  • Club/Organization of the Year: Women in Science (WinS)
  • Pete and Barbara Smith Outstanding Student Leadership Award: Alex Bailey ’12
  • OWU Spirit Award: Pam Quigney ’11
  • Outstanding First-Year Student: Rachel Vinciguerra ’14


  • Best New Member Award: Adeoluwa Barns Adeyemo ’12
  • Best Overall Member: Kyle Herman ’11
  • Donald G. Chenoweth Friend of WCSA Award: Craig Ullom, vice president of Student Affairs


  • Outstanding Senior Male Athlete: Sean Patrick ’11
  • Outstanding Senior Female Athlete: Kayla Gordon ’11


  • Senior Students: Timothy Albon, Evan Bai, Scott Bobbitt, Rachel Brumfield, Megan Evans, Briana Gunter, Kyle Herman, Heejin Jun, Marie Krulewitch, Sean-Paul Mauro, Chukwuezugo Onuekwusi, Alina Ruzmetova, Kyle Sjarif, Chardae Spencer, and Christopher Sponseller
  • New Inductees: Ronnesha Addison ’12, Marissa Alfano ’14, Alex Bailey ’12, Charles Brechtel ’13, Cali Cornacchia ’13, Phillip Forsgren ’12, Michael John Gatz ’12, Haneya Hasan ’14, Christopher Litzler ’14, Alan Massouh ’13, Anthony McGuire ’13, Emily Olmstead ’12, Megan Pinto ’14, Erika Reese ’13, Brittany Robertson ’12, Michelle Strong ’12, Kelsey Ullom ’14, Rachel Vinciguerra ’14, and Meredith Wholley ’13


  • Meek Leadership Awards: Megan Evans ’11, Kristen Lear ’11, Christopher Marshall ’11, Sean-Paul Mauro ’11, and Alina Ruzmetova ’11
  • Outstanding Meek Leadership Awards: Chloe Hamrick ’11 and Kyle Herman ’11

Congratulations, Golden Bishops and OWU superheroes!

Share This:Share on Facebook0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn0Share on Tumblr0Email this to someone


Leave a Reply